2020/2021 Terry Hershey Bayou Stewardship Award Luncheon

July 14, 2021 @ 12:00PM — July 29, 2021 @ 11:00AM Central Time (US & Canada)

A virtual celebration honoring our region's incredible bayou stewards!

2020/2021 Terry Hershey Bayou Stewardship Award Luncheon image

Purchase your sponsorship or buy your tickets today!

There are currently no tickets available for this event, but you can still make a donation.


On July 14, 2021, Bayou Preservation Association presents the 11th Annual Terry Hershey Bayou Stewardship Awards, honoring individuals for their outstanding commitment to aiding in the conservation, preservation, restoration or advocacy of Houston's waterways.

Below is a brief summary of each awardee. To see their full stories, visit: https://www.bayoupreservation.org/News-Events/Awar...

The 2020/2021 Awardees are:Jill Boullion, Professional Community and Economic Developer, is the Executive Director of the Bayou Land Conservancy and was formerly the Executive Director of the Greens Bayou Coalition. Jill has significantly expanded the impact of both organizations in protecting habitat, improving water quality and reducing flooding.

Terri Thomas has been an engaged and determined environmental activist for the past 25 years. She has contributed her time, treasure and talent to a host of local green groups, including Bayou Preservation Association, Memorial Park Conservancy, Buffalo Bayou Partnership and Air Alliance Houston, and has been a strong advocate for the health of Buffalo Bayou.

This year, two Special Recognition awards will be presented. The Houston Parks Board’s Bayou Greenways 2020 Project will be recognized for being one of the single most transformative projects for encouraging the public to appreciate our region’s bayous.

Bag-Free Bayous, a grass roots, student-led initiative, will be acknowledged for working to make our bayous free of plastic waste.

We have decided to go virtual this year to ensure everyone's safety. We encourage our sponsors and friends to gather safely in small groups to enjoy the celebration together.

Thank you to this year's sponsors and VIPs

Past Award Winners

2019 Recipients: Mayor Sylvester Turner, Kevin Shanley and Jackie Young; The Honorable Ed Emmett
2018 Recipient: Mary Anne Piacentini
2017 Recipients: Honorable R. Jack Cagle, Deborah January-Bevers and Dick Benoit
2016 Recipients: Ed Wulfe and John Blount
2015 Recipient: Mark Kramer
2014 Recipient: Jim Robertson
2013 Recipients: George H.W. Bush and George Mitchell
2012 Recipient: Hugh Barrett
2011 Recipient: Art Storey

More Information: